## FIRST YEAR ARTS POLITICAL SCIENCE Scheme: New

Two Papers	Min. Pass Marks:72	Max. Marks: 200
Paper-I	3 hrs. duration	100 Marks
Paper-II	3 hrs. duration	100 Marks

Note : The assessment scheme is divided into two parts: internal and annual assessment. **Internal assessment** comprises of 25 marks: 5 marks for attendance and 20 marks for a mid session class test. **The annual examination** will comprise of 75 marks and will be divided into two parts: part one will contain 45 objective type multiple choice questions, each carrying one mark and part two will contain 5 questions, one from each unit and the examinee will have to answer three questions in a maximum of 500 words. Each question will carry 10 marks.

Code: 1481

## PAPER-I FOUNDATIONS OF POLITICAL SCIENCE

- Unit-I: Meaning, Scope and Nature of Political Science: Traditional and Contemporary Perspectives; Behaviouralism and Post-Behaviouralism; Interdisciplinary Approach in Political Science.
- **Unit-II:** Concepts: Liberty, Equality, Power, Authority, Legitimacy, Political Development, Political Modernization, Political Culture, Sovereignty and Pluralism.
- **Unit-III:** Democracy and Dictatorship. Parliamentary and Presidential System, Federalism, Political Parties.
- **Unit-IV:** Civil Society and Human Rights; Organs of Government and their Functions (with reference to recent trends); Theory of Separation of Powers and Checks and Balances.
- Unit-V: Theories of the Origin of State: Social Contract and Evolutionary Theory. Political Ideologies: Liberalism, Marxism.

## Suggested Readings :

1.	A. Appadorai :	Substance of Politics.	
2.	A. Ashiravdam:	Principles of Political Science.	
3.	J.C. Johari :	Principles of Political Science.	
4.	M.C. Chagla :	The Law and the State.	
5.	R.G. Gettel :	Political Science	
6.	S.W. Garner :	Political Science and Government	
7.	H.W. Laski :	A Grammer of Politics.	
8.	R.C. Agarwal:	A Political Theory	
9.	L.S. Rathore :	In Defence of Political Theory	
10	एस. पी. वर्मा ः	राजनीति शास्त्र के सिद्धान्त	
11	पी. के. चढ्ढा ः	राजनीति विज्ञान के मूल आधार	
12	बी. एल. फड़ियाः	राजनीति विज्ञान के मूल आधार	
13	पुखराज जैन ः	राजनीति विज्ञान के मूल सिद्धान्त	